Home » News » Featured » Daly Fund trustees name recipients

Daly Fund trustees name recipients

Daly Fund trustees name recipients

Trustees of the Bernard Daly Educational Fund held their annual meeting in Lakeview on Saturday, June 28, announcing this year’s scholarship recipients through the Daly fund as well as the Amy Heryford Ousley and James Heryford Ousley Educational Fund.

Recipients included 20 graduates of the 2014 graduating class, with five from North Lake School, three from Paisley School and 12 from Lakeview.

North Lake recipients included Noelle Fine, Matthew Henkel, Zachariah McElhatton, Alexa Negus and Sid Wade.

Paisley recipients include Jessica Arrington, Joie Hoppe and Julia O’Leary. Lakeview recipients include Cindy Melissa Barnes, Madison Benedict, Marina Brazeal, Angela Gee, Melody Gee, Nathan Harlan, Brandi Larson, Rachel Leal, Aurora Price, Ashley Reese, Daniel Smith and Logan Staub.

The amount of the stipend for undergraduate students remained the same on either fund at $8,400 per school year.

Graduate students receiving $8,400 per school year include Kelsie Flynn, who is pursuing a Doctor of Pharmacy degree at Oregon State University and Kerry Lysne, who is pursuing a Master of Arts in Teaching Elementary Education, also at OSU.

Officers elected for next year include Melinda Howard, chair, Mike Sabin, vice-chair, David M. Vandenberg, secretary-treasurer and Ann Tracy and Alan Parks, trustees.

Others attending the annual meeting were Joseph P. Holliday, former Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Success Initiatives at the Oregon University System, Justin Kribs, manager of student financial services at Oregon Health and Science University, Kylie Graffunder, scholarship coordinator from Eastern Oregon University, Suzie Petersen, associated director of financial aid from Oregon Institute of Technology, Patti Brady-Glassman, associate director of financial aid and scholarships from Oregon State University, David Kobzina, senior admissions counselor from Portland State University, Pat McAuley, scholarship coordinator from Southern Oregon University, Kara Westervelt, assistant director for scholarships from the University of Oregon, Mario Torres-Mora, financial aid counselor from Western Oregon University, Sean Gallagher, superintendent of Lake County School District No.7, Lonnie Chavez, Lakeview High School counselor, Mike Jones, Paisley School teacher, Cathy Libolt, North Lake School teacher, James C. Lynch, Collins-McDonald Trust Fund representative, Paul Harlan, Collins-McDonald Trust Fund representative, Dee Brown, Collins-McDonald Trust Fund representative, DR. Franz Haun, Julie Houchen-Haun and Tim Houchen, all representing the selection committee.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.