Home » Sports » LHS boys capture first in slimmest of margins at SCL meet

LHS boys capture first in slimmest of margins at SCL meet

In the end it was a mere hundredth of a second that made the difference at the Southern Cascade League Hybrid Meet in Klamath Falls on Saturday, May 10, that put Lakeview High School’s boys team in first place by 0.5 points.

A remarkable day of competition at Oregon Institute of Technology saw Lakeview’s athletes performing at their best all season in the final regular season meet despite heavy winds, with no less than 18 new personal records set and numerous first place finishes. The girl’s team placed fourth and the boys won overall in a key qualifying track meet before districts begin.

LHS boys finished the eight-school competition with 130 points, barely edging Lost River at 129.5.

Every point mattered, the difference in the meet proving to come early in the day when Lakeview beat Lost River by less than one hundredth of a second for first place in the 4×100-meter relay. The relay team was comprised of Connor Lysne, Pierce Schreder, Lane Hadley and Michael Cooney.

It was the sprinters that led the way to LHS’ overall victory, Hadley winning both the 100-meters and 200-meters, setting personal best times in both, while Cooney finished a close second behind Hadley in both races.

Steven Hedlund won the 800-meters with a new personal best (2:06.91), and finished second in the 1500-meters, while Marco Guitron took top honors in the 110-meter hurdles with a new best of 17.23 seconds, while also setting a new best mark in javelin.

Pierce Schreder also had a big day, taking first in pole vault with his best ever clearance of 12’06”, more than one and a half feet better than the competition. Schreder also finished second in high jump and ran a leg for both relay teams.

Other LHS boys setting new personal bests included Dominic Leal (400-meters), Nick Wiebelhaus (400-meters), Kyle Stanton (1500-meters), Rennie Neider (shot put), Connor Lysne (triple jump), Cody Castle (long jump) and Jose Guitron (shot put).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.