Home » News » Featured » School awards honor DMS and LHS best and brightest

School awards honor DMS and LHS best and brightest

School awards honor DMS and LHS best and brightest

Students from Daly Middle School and Lakeview High School packed Honker Court the morning of Thursday, June 5, to be honored by faculty at the annual LHS/DMS end of year awards assembly.

LHS Principal Steve Prock opened the nearly hour and a half assembly, praising the students efforts over the nearly complete school year. Before individual awards were handed out, longtime teacher and track coach Bobbie Steninger was presented with a special framed and matted award honoring her extensive years of service.

Students were asked to come down from the gym stands to be presented with awards in front of the student body while instructors from various departments announced names and accomplishments of each student. Often teachers took a moment to tell a personal story or funny memory about individual students while discussing the efforts of the entire class.

The ceremony included all students of Daly Middle School and freshmen, sophomores and juniors of LHS. A separate senior awards ceremony was held the previous week prior to graduation.

Awards were given out for categories such as perfect attendance, no tardies, Oaks Assessment Testing Awards, CTE achievements, and excellence in math, science, English, history, physical fitness, business, arts, music, and Spanish. Teachers also gave special awards for the most helpful students and teacher’s aides.

For DMS, Stacie Jones and Evan Reese were named the most outstanding students for seventh grade, and Kyle Deiter and Alex Conley received the same recognition among eighth graders.

The students of the semester at LHS were Madelyn Keep and Nathan Schutt among freshmen, sophomores Billie Hutchins and Simon Ballaine, and juniors Delaney Hall and Steven Hedlund. LHS students named “most cooperative” included Claire Collins and Nathan Schutt for freshmen, sophomores Anna Fledderjohann and Eduardo Murrieta, and juniors McKenna Albertson, Connor Lysne and Abraham Orozco.

Student council members of each grade were also recognized for their efforts during the school year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.